Getting an Indiana DUI is no joke, but you know what can make it worse? Having kids in the car when you get pulled over.
Standard Indiana DUI
Typically, an Indiana DUI starts off as a Class C misdemeanor, which carries a maximum penalty of 60 days in jail and a $500 fine. However, depending on factors like your alcohol concentration equivalent or your driving behavior, it can escalate to a Class A misdemeanor.
For example, if you operate a vehicle in a manner that endangers a person, this can be charged as a Class A misdemeanor, which carries a maximum penalty of 365 days in jail and a $5,000 fine.
Indiana DUI + Kids in the Car
It’s unfortunately easy for things to escalate into felony territory. If you’re arrested for DUI and had children under the age of 18 in the car, you could be facing a Level 6 felony. This carries a maximum penalty of two-and-a-half years in prison and a $10,000 fine.
If you’re alleged to have put a child in danger, the State could also charge you with neglect of a dependent as a Level 6 felony. If the child suffered bodily injury, you can be charged with neglect of a dependent as a Level 5 felony, which carries a maximum penalty of six years in prison and a $10,000 fine.
Make the Right Call
If you find yourself facing felony charges with your Indiana DUI, don’t panic. It’s crucial to call an experienced Indiana criminal lawyer. The Marc Lopez Law Firm handles cases like these every day. Give us a call at 317-632-3642 and remember—always plead the 5th!