Nobody expects to be charged with a DUI, but it happens to normal people every day. In the State of Indiana, this is called operating a vehicle while intoxicated, or OVWI. Other states might call it DUI (driving under the influence) or OWI (operating while intoxicated), but it’s all basically the same thing. If you’re suspected of a DUI in Indiana, you’re going to be charged with operating a vehicle while intoxicated

At the lowest level, an Indiana DUI can be charged as a Class C misdemeanor, which carries a maximum penalty of 60 days in jail and a $500 fine. If you’re also charged with endangerment (and this can include endangerment of yourself), it jumps to a Class A misdemeanor, carrying a maximum penalty of 365 days in jail and a $5,000 fine. 

If you’re feeling confused or have any questions about what it means to be charged with DUI in Indiana, give us a call at 317-632-3642 and remember—always plead the 5th!