An Indiana DUI can come in a few different forms. It’s officially known as OVWI (operating a vehicle while intoxicated), and there are different criminal charges depending on the amount of alcohol detected in your body. 

A certified chemical test is designed to measure grams of ethanol per 100 milliliters of blood or 210 milliliters of breath. If your alcohol concentration equivalent (ACE) is .08 or greater, you can be charged with a Class C misdemeanor. This carries a maximum penalty of 60 days in jail and a $500 fine. 

It is a mistake to think you can avoid the certified chemical test. Indiana has decided that the act of driving a vehicle within its borders means the driver has implicitly agreed to submit to a chemical test offered by law enforcement. If you refuse the certified chemical test, your license is automatically suspended for at least one year—even if you are not intoxicated. 

Most states treat DUI charges in a similar fashion, but it’s important to understand the specifics of Indiana law. If you have any questions about your DUI charge or the science behind it, give us a call at 317-632-3642 and remember—always plead the 5th!